• Pittcon Recognises Outstanding Achievements in Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy

Environmental Laboratory

Pittcon Recognises Outstanding Achievements in Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy

Nov 13 2014

The Pittcon 2015 Program Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of 14 prestigious awards honoring scientists who have made outstanding contributions to analytical chemistry and applied spectroscopy. Each award will be presented during a symposium at Pittcon 2015, March 8-12, 2015, New Orleans, Louisiana.

Presentations will include topics in applications such as bioanalytical, nanotechnology, genomics/proteomics, fuels/energy, materials, polymers/plastics, pharmaceutical, biomedical and neurochemistry. Methodologies include near infrared spectroscopy, molecular and vibrational spectroscopy; mass spectrometry; capillary electrophoresis; electrochemistry; liquid chromatography; sensors, magnetic resonance and chemical methods.

There will be two new awards this year, the Lifetime Achievement in Chromatography Award and the Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award, both of which are sponsored by LCGC. The LCGC Lifetime Achievement Award honors a seasoned professional for a lifetime of contributions to the advancement of chromatographic techniques and applications. The LCGC Emerging Leader Award recognises the achievements and aspirations of a talented young separation scientist who has made significant practical contributions to the field of separation science. The LCGC Awards were created in 2008, and for the first time in 2015, the recipients will be honoured at Pittcon.

“The LCGC Awards were created to honour those who developed the field of chromatography into what it is today, and to recognise the leaders of the next generation of scientists who represent the future,” said LCGC publisher Mike Tessalone. “Our mission at LCGC is to educate our readers, and what better way to do that than to provide real-life examples of people that paved the way for new technologies and methods, while also highlighting current research that is breaking new ground,” he added.

Awards and recipients are as follows: Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award, Alfred G. Redfield, Brandeis University; Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award, Andrew G. Ewing, Chalmers and Gothenburg Universities; Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award, Ryan C. Bailey, University of Illinois; ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award for Young Investigators in Separation Science, Dwight R. Stoll, Gustavus Adolphus College; Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley Dal Nogare Award, Mark R. Schure, Kroungold; SEAC Charles N. Reilley Award, Hubert Girault, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland; SEAC Royce W. Murray Award, Thomas Hamann, Michigan State University; Ralph N. Adams Award, John R. Yates, The Scripps Research Institute; The Coblentz Society Williams Wright Award, David Jonas, University of Colorado; Pittcon Heritage Award, A. Blaine Bowman, Illumina; The LCGC Lifetime Achievement in Chromatography Award, Joseph Jack Kirkland, Advanced Materials Technology, Inc.; The LCGC Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award, Caroline West, University of Orleans. 

Digital Edition

IET 34.1 Jan 2024

January 2024

In This Edition Water/Wastewater - Continuous remote water quality monitoring networks Environmental Laboratory - The Important Role of ICP-MS in Understanding the Toxicological Link Be...

View all digital editions



Mar 05 2024 Orlando, FL, USA


Mar 05 2024 Guangdong, China

Disasters Expo USA

Mar 06 2024 Miami, FL, USA

Oil & Gas Asia

Mar 07 2024 Karachi, Pakistan

Oceanology International

Mar 12 2024 London, UK

View all events